Virtual Coffee: Introduction of the organic waste bin in Germany - from a model project to a national standard

public
Tue, Nov 21 2023
Europe/Berlin: 9:00 - 9:45am
Asia/Amman: 11:00 - 11:45am
Asia/Kolkata: 1:30 - 2:15pm
Asia/Kuala_Lumpur: 4:00 - 4:45pm
Asia/Bangkok: 3:00 - 3:45pm
ONLINE EVENT

Logo Virtual Coffee with speaker

The separate collection of organic waste is an important contribution to a sustainable waste management. By diverting organic waste from landfills, the methane emissions can be reduced  significantly, which contribute to climate change. Furthermore, organic waste can be turned into valuable compost or used to produce biogas through anaerobic digestion that can be used for heating, electricity production, or as a transportation fuel.

In this Virtual Coffee Prof. Klaus Fricke, one of the inventors of the organic waste bin and thus the separate collection of organic waste in Germany, will talk about how the idea came about, what resistances arose during implementation and how these were finally solved.

In addition, international experiences and possibilities for the organic waste bin to be used in other climatic zones will be discussed.

Download Presentations